The first and oldest Bowls Club in Toowoomba

Toowoomba Bowls Club is the oldest club on the Darling Downs and the fourth oldest in Queensland

Established in 1900

At a meeting held on 29th September, 1900 at Hennessey’s Hotel (Mr D Munro, Chairman) it was unanimously agreed that the Darling Downs Bowling Club be formed. Three weeks later on 18th October, 1900 another meeting was held at which the following Club Office-Bearers were appointed.

  • Patron: Lord Lamington, Governor of Queensland
  • President: Sir Hugh M Nelson
  • Vice-Presidents: W H Groom MLA, G G Cory
  • Secretary: A M Newman
  • Treasurer: H A Nisbett
  • Committee: Messre Short, Quinlan, J H Munro, P K Clark, H Walker, C R Thomas, A Mayes

Official opening in 1903

A suitable site was obtained from the Trustees of the Toowoomba Recreation Reserve, Lindsay Street under a long term lease. Early setbacks including the failure of the first green planting, resulted in the official opening being deferred until 1903.

Membership at this time totalled 40.

The first “Pavilion” was a bough Shed with a tarpaulin roof. The first Club House was positioned underneath a 1000 gallon tank, the stumps being enclosed with weather boards and a front door provided.

Name changed in 2000

As other clubs were being formed on the Downs, the title of the Club was changed to “Toowoomba Bowling Club” and in more recent years to Toowoomba Bowls Club Inc.

Toowoomba Bowls Club Facilities 14
Toowoomba Bowls Club Facilities 14

Top: Lawn bowls, early 1900’s, note the score board. (Maryborough, ca. 1907)
Above: Queen’s Park Toowoomba early 1900’s.


Get in Contact

14 + 14 =